School boards recognized at state, local level


January has been declared school board appreciation month by Governor Greg Abbott.

“At this time, I encourage all Texans to join in celebrating the work and success of our many school board members across Texas who play an important role in the education of Texas’ youth. The children we nurture right now will become the leaders of our state and nation in the future,” Abbott said.

“School Board Recognition Month is the perfect time to thank the 7,300 locally elected leaders who deeply care about the success of all Texas children. These dedicated men and women strive for excellence in our public schools and serve without pay on local boards. In communities across the state, they willingly step forward to tackle serious issues, deal with financial uncertainties, and still provide excellent education experiences for our children,” said James B. Crow, executive director of the Texas Association of School Boards (TASB).

The Arp Independent School District has a seven member board of trustees. Dr. Earnest Stroupe, Place 7, has served 11 years and is current president of the board. Dr. Montza Williams, Place 1, is Vice President and is the longest serving member of the board with 12 years of service. Heath Grammier, Place 2, is the current secretary and has nine years of service to the board; Ernie Maddox, Place 5, assistant secretary, eight years; Frank Smith, Place 3, two years; Morris Shores, Place 4, two years and Mike McClure, Place 6, one year.

“One of the reasons that I have been in the district for 21 years is because of the incredible support we have had from our school board members,” Superintendent Shannon Arrington stated of the trustees. “The leadership that our school board has displayed over the years has been second to none!”

The AISD board members each serve three year terms. This year, Place 3 and Place 4 on the board will be open for election. Anyone wishing to file for a seat on the AISD board of trustees may do so beginning Wednesday, Jan. 17, until Friday, Feb. 16. The administration office hours are 7:30 a.m. - 4 p.m. Monday through Friday. Elections are set for Saturday, May 5.

The next meeting of the AISD board of trustees is 6:30 p.m. Monday, Jan. 22, at which the board members will be formally honored for their efforts on behalf of the district.

Information regarding the Troup ISD and Whitehouse ISD school boards will be featured in the next two issues of the Tri County Leader.


Special Sections