Raabe is District 17-5A soccer MVP


Whitehouse dominated the All-District 17-5A roster after the Ladycats captured the district championship for the 2017 season.

Senior Lyndsey Raabe was named the District Most Valuable Player.

Brooke Morris was named the Offensive Most Valuable Player.

Also for Whitehouse, Sydney Malmstrom was named Keeper of the Year, and Alicia Gurrusquieta was named Newcomer of the Year. 

Four Ladycats were named to the First Team roster, including Rachel Fulgham, Alli Cardwell, Chloe Towler and Regan Tyrrell.

The Second Team also included Ally Reed, Sydney Halbrook, Jenna Leihgeber and Maddie Sparks.

Kylee Updike and Hope Herring received Honorable Mention to the all-district roster.

District champion Whitehouse, third place Lindale and fourth place Ennis were knocked out of the State playoffs in the first round. Jacksonville, which finished second in the district standings, was knocked out in the second round of the playoffs.

The girls soccer State tournament will begin Thursday, April 13. Region 3 champion Rouse will face Region 1 title holder Aledo, and the Region 2 and 4 match-up will be Dallas Highland Park vs. Boerne Champion. The title match is slated for 11 a.m. Saturday, April 15, at Birkelbach Field in Georgetown.


Special Sections