Otero wins boys division, Leihgeber, Smith lead girls


Spencer Otero won the varsity boys division at the annual American Warrior Cross Country Run at Brook Hill Saturday, Sept. 2. Ally Leihgeber and Ashley Smith led the Ladycats to second place in the varsity girls division.

Whitehouse will run at the Tyler Lee Invitational at UT-Tyler Saturday, Sept. 9. The first run will start at 8 a.m.

Leihgeber and Smith placed fourth and fifth, respectively, to pace Whitehouse to a second place team finish with 80 points at Brook Hill. Leihgeber posted a time of 14:19.93, while Smith on Leihgeber’s heels crossed the line less than a second later at 14:20.37.

Also for the Ladycats, Barbara Givens placed 19th with a time of 15:59.65, Jenna Leihgeber recorded a time of 16:41.71 for 25th place, and Alexa Borja was 27th with a time of 16:50.33.

Otero topped the field with a blistering time of 18:38.82 for first place in the varsity boys division at Brook Hill.

​Whitehouse had a team score of 99 points for third place. Haris Khan was 15th with a time of 20:19.64; Andrew Moran crossed the finish line in 21st place with a time of 21:07.07; Logan Ricard recorded a time of 21:14.0 for 25th place; Zachary Cox was 37th with a time of 22:07.65; Joseph Vera posted a 41st place time of 22:23.0; Lucas Baum finished 48th with a time of 22:53.90; and Caleb Moran crossed the line in 55th place with a time of 24:23.0.

The Whitehouse junior varsity boys won the team title with 42 points. Bladimir Tarrango led the squad with a third place time of 22:34.0. Next to cross the finish line in fourth place was Bradley Green, who recorded a time of 22:42.0. Armando Gonzalez and Xande Borja finished 10th and 11th with respective times of 23:37.96 and 24:05.09.

Also for the Wildcats, Chris Knight placed 14th (24:27.64); Derek Jerinigan placed 18th (25:30.87); Hayden Rozell placed 20th (25:38.83); Brandon Grogan placed 24th (26:24.39); Luke Smith placed 26th (26:27.58); River Tomlinson placed 27th (26:52.32); and Austin Green placed 33rd (27:57.00).

In the junior varsity girls division, Adrian Stephens placed 10th with a time of 16:50.48; Shanya Guitterez placed 17th (18:13.8); Bailee Joiner placed 28th (20:15.64); and Megan Tarbutton placed 30th (20:55.54).


Special Sections