Neal is District 17-5A MVP


Javier Neal led Whitehouse to a District 17-5A championship and to the fourth round of the State playoffs for the 2017-2018 basketball season. A senior, he was named the Most Valuable Player on the All-District 17-5A roster.

Jackson Mahomes, also a senior, was named the Defensive Most Valuable Player and head coach Brent Kelley was named Coach of the Year.

Earning First Team honors were Kolby Jimmerson, a senior, and Peyton Kennedy, a sophomore. Senior

McKade Marquis was listed on the Second Team roster and seniors Brandon Bullard, Jake Clemons and Hayden Holley, and sophomore Cooper Clemons all received Honorable Mention.

Nacogdoches senior Nick Smith was named the Offensive Most Valuable Player and Newcomer of the Year honors were earned by Lindale sophomore Jacob Koeshall.

Also named to the First Team roster were Ji’Ryn Young, Devan Lindsey and Connor Hutchins, all seniors from Corsicana; Ennis senior DiKeevian Grimes; Lindale junior Connery Churchhill; Jacksonville senior Brady Robinson and junior Deshawn McCuin; and from Nacogdoches, senior Mike Little, junior Devious Whitaker and sophomore Nana Natwi-Boasiako.

The Second Team members included Corsicana seniors Caleb Watkins and Colton Kuykendall, as well as sophomore Emanuel Haggerty; Jacksonville seniors Jaeshun Bush and Josh McDowell and junior Cason McCuin; from Lindale, senior Gray Pittman and junior Teigan Edwards; and Nacogdoches junior Bobby Phillips and sophomore Deonte Jackson.


Special Sections