Malmstrom shares volleyball MVP honors


Sydney Malmstrom was named the All-District 17-5A volleyball Most Valuable Player, an honor she shared with Lindale senior Alisha Kiser.

Malmstrom, a senior, led the Ladycats to second place in the district standings and a trip to the playoffs.

Sophomore Briana Brown was named Hitter of the Year and Macy Smith, also a senior, received the Defensive Player of the Year honors.

Grace Hendricks, also a senior, was named Setter of the Year.

Sharing Blocker of the Year honors were Ennis senior Kourtney Lewis, Corsicana junior Mariah Lee and Brina Kuslak, a junior from Lindale. Ennis freshman Marlee Hopkins was named Newcomer of the Year.

Coach of the Year honors went to Lindale’s Jessica Camp, who guided the Lady Eagles to the district title in 2017.

Senior Mahayla Mitchell was named to the First Team All-District roster, Earning Second Team honors were juniors Lauren Hannah and Sydnie Davis. Rylie Smith and Kaitlyn Wood, both juniors, and sophomore Ashlee Taylor received Honorable Mention.

All-District Academic honors were earned by seniors Hendricks, Malmstrom, Mitchell, Alexis Oldham and Smith; juniors Davis and Wood and sophomore Taylor. To earn All-District Academic honors students must earn a grade of 90 or above in the first six weeks.

The First Team All-District roster included:

Lindale - Harleigh Thurman sophomore; Jennifer Moyer, junior; and London Reue, sophomore.

Corsicana - Abby Harlan, junior; Madison Pond, senior; and Kiki Blanton, junior.

Ennis - Madalyn Martinez, senior; and Ellen Pate, senior.

Jacksonville - Tristan Chancey, senior;

Nacogdoches - Kaili Cox, senior.

The Second Team All-District roster also included:

Lindale - Kalaya Pierce, freshman; Lorin Reue, senior; and Shelbi Steen, freshman.

Corsicana - Gracie Griffin, junior.

Ennis - Audrey Beakley, junior; and Cynthia Esquivel, junior.

Jacksonville - Kenzee Rawlinson, senior.

Receiving Honorable Mention were:

Jacksonville - Ke’onshay Fuller, junior; Riley Rodriguez, senior; and Trinity Dudley, senior.

Nacogdoches - Sha’Kiya Flemon.

Ennis - Emily Hull, senior; and Shyanne Matthews, senior.

Corsicana - Claire Johnson, sophomore; Alexis Johnson, junior; Lara Bwicheilug, freshman; Maddie Young, junior; and Nayeli Lara, sophomore.

Lindale - Shailan Davis, sophomore.

Earning Academic All-District from Lindale included Shailan Davis, Alisha Kiser, Brina Kuslak, Mackenzie Martin, Jennifer Moyer, Lorin Reue, Gracie Spearman, Shelbi Steen and Cailynn Widemon.

Academic All-District from Corsicana were Madison Pond, Lauren Smith, Abby Harlan, Mariah Lee, Claire Johnson, Nayeli Lara, Kiki Blanton and Gracie Griffin.

Academic All-District from Ennis include Ellen Pate, Shyanne Matthews, Tiana Murray-Lewis, Audrey Beakley, Madelyn Martinez and Emily Hull.

Academic All-District from Jacksonville were Breezey Robinson, Tynesia Penson, Sierra Richardson, Riley Rodriguez, Emily Moriera, Sierra Mosley and Desheera Whitaker.

Academic All-District from Nacogdoches included Kaili Cox.


Special Sections