Ladycats to open district soccer action

Posted

Whitehouse opened District 17-5A soccer Tuesday, Feb. 6, at Corsicana. The Ladycats prepared for their loop schedule with an overwhelming 8-0 victory over Athens last week. They will play at Jacksonville starting at 7 p.m. Friday, Feb. 9, and will follow that with a match at home versus Nacogdoches at 7 p.m. Tuesday, Feb. 13.

The Ladycats played well against Athens and dominated action for an 8-0 victory. The defense was led by Regan Tyrrell, Kate Idrogo, Jenna Leihgeber, Maddy Sparks, Grace McCracken, Makenzie Alexander and senior goalkeeper Sydney Malmstrom.

Whitehouse played an outstanding match and shut out the Lady Hornets.  

Meanwhile the offense provided a lot of fireworks. Brooke Morris, Alicia Gurrusquieta and Ally Reed booted in goals and assists were provided by Reed, Ally Leihgeber and Kaitlyn Hossley. 

The Ladycats will host Ennis Friday, Feb. 16, and will travel to Lindale Tuesday, Feb. 20. Both matches will begin at 7 p.m.

The junior varsity district tournament will be played Thursday and Friday, Feb. 22 and 23, at a site to be determined.

Whitehouse will finish the district schedule hosting Corsicana Tuesday, Feb. 27, and Jacksonville Friday, March 2; at Nacogdoches Tuesday, March 6, and at Ennis Friday, March 9; and a home match with Lindale to close out the regular season Tuesday, March 20. All of the matches in the second half of the district slate will start at 6 p.m.

Note: Aimee Morris contributed to this article.

Comments

Special Sections