Lady Eagles earn state, district awards in softball


Lindale High School’s Lady Eagles, fresh off a District 17-5A championship and the state playoffs, have also earned several accolades for their play on the field and their achievements in the classroom.

Seniors Allie Thompson, Michaela Walker and Mallory Welvaert were all named recently to the All-State Academic Team, while the league’s coaches selected several Lady Eagles for superlative district honors.

Thompson and Welvaert earned first team all-state academic honors while Walker earned second team status.

Fifteen Lady Eagles earned Academic All-District honors as well: freshmen Gracie Spearman, Allie Anderson and London Reue; sophomores Erica Boyd, Dee Saunders, Jodi DeHart, Hannah Knox, Cailynn Widemon and Anna Westberry; juniors Tyra Rodden, Lorin Reue and Sarah Day and seniors Mallory Welvaert, Allie Thompson and Michaela Walker.

Junior pitcher/third baseman Lorin Reue was selected co-Most Valuable Player and senior catcher Allie Thompson was selected Defensive Player of the Year.

Lindale advanced to the area round of the Region III state playoffs before falling to Magnolia West High School.

The Lady Eagles defeated A&M Consolidated High School, 13-7 and 2-1 at bi-district to advance to the area round.



MOST VALUABLE PLAYERS: Lorin Reue, Jr., Lindale; Skylar Kirk, Sr., Corsicana

OFFENSIVE PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Madison Pond Jr., Corsicana

DEFENSIVE PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Allie Thompson Sr., Lindale

PITCHER OF THE YEAR: Chelsea Vandiver Sr., Corsicana

NEWCOMER OF THE YEAR: Jordyn Whitaker Fr., Jacksonville

UTILITY PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Kenzie Wright Fr., Whitehouse Maile Deutsch Sr., Ennis and Emily Moreira Soph., Jacksonville


LINDALE: Dee Saunders Soph., Michaela Walker Sr., Jodi DeHart Soph., London Reue Fr.

CORSICANA: Kameron Betts, Gracie Griffin, Lexi White, Jada Woolley

JACKSONVILLE: Maggie Lucky, Abbie Clevenger, Saylor Williams,

WHITEHOUSE: Mahayla Mitchell, Sierra Stone, Makala Moore

NACOGDOCHES: Madison Anderson, Taylor Williams

ENNIS: Samantha Martinez, Kinsey Skroh.


LINDALE: Hannah Knox, Soph., Mallory Welvaert, Sr., Sarah Day, Jr.

CORSICANA: Zoe Lane, Emily Roughton

JACKSONVILLE: Breezey Robinson, Trinity Dudley, Sierra Richardson

WHITEHOUSE: Maddie Wright, Sarah Womble, Bailey Dennis

NACOGDOCHE: Lauryn Brasher, Sheika Washington

ENNIS: Emilie Hollingsworth, Monica Monreal, Ryan Nutt, Briana Escobar


Special Sections