Stephen F. Austin has released the names of students who received their degrees during May commencement exercises. Many students from our readership area were among the listed graduates.


Amy Camp, Master of Science in Environmental Science, Arthur Temple College of Forestry and Agriculture, Spatial Science


Traci Burlingame, Master of Education in Special Education, James I. Perkins College of Education

Haley Rome, Bachelor of Science in Nursing, College of Sciences and Mathematics

John Rumbelow, Master of Education in Educational Leadership, James I. Perkins College of Education

Morgan Samford, Bachelor of Social Work, College of Liberal and Applied Arts

Melody Welch, Bachelor of Social Work, College of Liberal and Applied Arts


Stephen F. Austin students enrolled in a minimum of 12 semester hours who maintain a 4.0 grade point average are eligible for the President’s List. Those who maintain at least a 3.5 grade point average are eligible for the Dean’s List.

Students named to SFA’s President List include:

Julia Schmidt, Forest Wildlife Management, Troup,

Emily Chenoweth, Music, Whitehouse

Haley Rome, Nursing, Whitehouse

Morgan Samford, Social Work, Whitehouse

Melody Welch, Social Work, Whitehouse

Students who were named to the SFA Dean’s List include:

Anna Hamilton, Agribusiness, Troup

Laci Westbrook, Social Work, Troup

Ronald Baker, Management, Whitehouse

Trekeva Cotledge, Interior Design, Whitehouse

Kennedy Hall, Interdisciplinary Studies, Whitehouse

Beth Hood, Business Economics, Whitehouse

Amanda Pyle, Interdisciplinary Studies, Whitehouse

Alisha Watson, Interdisciplinary Studies, Whitehouse


Tyler Junior College has recognized 1,316 students named to the President’s and Dean’s lists for their academic excellence during the spring 2018 semester.

The President’s list, composed of students who complete a minimum of 12 hours of college-level courses with a 4.0 grade-point average, includes 453 students.

The Dean’s list, composed of students who complete a minimum of 12 hours of college-level courses with a minimum 3.3 grade-point average, includes 863 students.

Students named to the President’s list include (alphabetically by hometown):

ARP: Nicole Cerda, Elizabeth Hill, Kaci Kuykendall, Garrett Shamburger

TROUP: Cooper Adams, Mackenzie Bernardino, Erica Bridges, Skyler Brumit, Ethan Houghton, Emily Krall, Jordan Lynn, Kelsey Mullins, Katrina Noyola, Grace Richardson, Lee Sowders, Julie Swinney

WHITEHOUSE: Stacey Acton, Tyler Brewer, Justin Carnes, Luke Cunningham, Leah Davidson, Ralph Deveraux Jr., Aubry Dougherty, Taylor Dowdy, Alexander French, Dillan Klein, Cade Parrish, Garrett Shamburger, Hipolito Valle, Annie Walters, Nicholas White

Students named to the Dean’s list are (alphabetically by hometown):

ARP: Isis De La Garza Quiroz, Jacob Forester, Shelbi Higginbotham, Brandi Hobson, Austin Jones, Sean Millegan, Daniel Miller, Tabatha Phillips, Chad Thompson, Megan Tucker

TROUP: Kyle Alexander, Blake Attaway, Austin Barron, Elizabeth Chambers, Samuel Dickerson, Christy Durmon, Melissa George, Thomas Hawkins, Alexandra Knight, Madison Le, Kaleigh McClure, Dusti McMichael, Rachel Ramirez, Emily Stone, Josalyn Van Gundy

WHITEHOUSE: Kara Leila Abella, Tyler Bailey, Hayley Benken, Jonathan Burt, William Clark, Sarah Cleckler, Sarah Duncan, Kelsey Evans, Chloe Goff, Alexandra Gonter, Laura Jones, Katrina Krebs, Connor Loosley, Ruby Ragon, Jonathan Scott, Colton Selvidge, Reannon Thornton, Victor Vera, Mark Joshua Vergel de Dios, Schuyler Wages


Special Sections